He reached down from on high and took hold of me;
    He drew me out of deep waters.
He rescued me from my powerful enemy,
    from my foes, who were too strong for me.
They confronted me in the day of my disaster,
    but the Lord was my support.

October 15th, 2013, I faced one of the most difficult days of my life.

I had breast cancer surgery and faced so many potential scenarios and some of them were really terrifying. My family rallied around me, my friends came to the hospital and prayed for the entire three hour surgery. Friends and family prayed, sent gifts, and food, I could not have made it without each and every person.

This has been a roller coaster year, I am never sure what to say when I am asked how I am doing now, because on one hand I feel healthy, but I have unpleasant reminders that this is a battle, tests every few months, constant discussions with Doctors and visits to the cancer clinic.

The biggest part of this battle has been in my mind, standing strong in the midst of fear and not allowing what others speak over me to define me. I have been rescued out of mighty waters and I am truly so grateful. I have so many great life lessons through this past year.

So as the roller coaster continues, I am determined to face it with the strength and peace that only God can give me. I have a deep gratitude for everyone who has stood with me in this battle, you have been a gift!

I have included pictures from October 15, 2013..before and after the surgery.

IMG_9832 IMG_9813 IMG_9837

