Jesus came to earth….showing us the way, one foot at a time, down the path of peaceLuke 1:79

A few weeks ago I heard the words from a Doctor no one ever wants to hear, “I don’t have good news.”  After several tests including a Biopsy, we sat in his office as he read the pathology. The lump they found during a routine Mammogram was cancerous, Stage 1.  I sat listening to him, I am sure in a bit of shock, thinking this does not sound like me, he must have this mixed up. He was very kind trying to reassure me with points to be encouraged about, but in the end he couldn’t say what I really wanted to hear.

When he left the room, Grady and I prayed, “Lord whatever name he said over me,  Jesus’ name is above that name and we trust in the name of Jesus.”

We sat listening to all the instructions for upcoming weeks, Cancer Clinics, decisions and discussions. All things I really didn’t want to participate in and could not really be happening.

But then, when I had time to be alone and hear the voice of the One who has promised in Psalm 112:7-8, “They do not fear bad news; they confidently trust the Lord to care for them.They are confident and fearless and can face their foes triumphantly.” The Scripture doesn’t say we won’t have bad news, it does say we don’t have to live in fear.

I realized that so much fear is attached to that name and disease – Cancer. My life has been a journey of being delivered from fear and now I face my biggest challenge and opportunity. Presented before me is a fresh and very present challenge to walk boldly trusting in the One who has delivered me from fear. The One who has  allowed me to minister in so many nations and in so many diverse situations, beyond anything I could have ever imagined, and will continue to give me those opportunities until the day He calls me home.

The Lord on every hand is guiding me through this and giving me assurance that my strength and peace come from Him. I read the following scripture the other day and it so resonated with me that I read it in as many differant versions as I could find. In the end, I love this from the New Living Translation

Philippians 1:28-29

“Don’t be intimidated in any way by your enemies. This will be a sign to them that they are going to be destroyed, but that you are going to be saved, even by God himself. For you have been given not only the privilege of trusting in Christ but also the privilege of suffering for him.

So I am choosing to look at this as a privilege of learning to trust in the Lord in a whole new way. To see Him glorified through my life as I hold on and walk in faith and peace.

I would be so very grateful if you will pray for me and my family, as we travel this new road together. Yet another opportunity to trust in the One who holds us in His Hands.

I will keep you informed as we get more information. For now, I thank you so much for being our friend. I am grateful.

Lots of Love,

Christina

 

